© EM TEST 2021

Standards - Guidelines in EMC

Standardization is the driving factor in EMC business. EM TEST participates in standard committee groups from the very beginning. In 1987 we started as an active member in TC65A/WG 4 creating the standards IEC 801-2 for ESD, IEC 801-3 for rf field, IEC 801-4 for EFT/burst, IEC 801-5 for Surge and IEC 801-6 for induced conducted immunity.

EM TEST is always on the actual level of information and so are our customers.
EM TEST works now on standards, which will be published in the future.
We have the background information which we design into our products for the benefit of our customers.
We are part of the international network of standardization bodies and therefore have relations to many EMC experts world-wide.
Our EMC seminars are always dealing with the most actual matters in EMC. Maybe we do not know everything but we know where to get the information from.

Testing experience of our customers is an important knowledge which we try to bring into the different standards.
We are trying to enable our customers to work efficiently and as easy as ever possible and at the same time to reduce failures during testing as much as possible.


The structure of EMC standards

EMC requirements are specified in a vast number of standard documents issued by various committees and organizations. The documents are organized as follows:

Basic standards:
Describe the phenomenon, characterize the test equipment and give guidance how tests shall be performed and documented. Basic standards like IEC 61000-4-x form the lowest level in standard's hierarchy.

Generic standards:
Specify test levels for a certain range of application, referring to the Basic Standards for general information. Generic standards give minimum requirements, e.g. for CE Mark (EN 61000-6-1). Generic Standards stand above the Basic standards.

Product Family standards:
Are used where exist for a certain category of products. They specify test levels and performance criteria. EN 61326, for instance, forms such a Product Family standard dealing with the EMC requirements of equipment for measurement, control laboratory use.

Product standards:
Are the most preferred standards as they give strict requirements for a certain product. EN 61800-3 for instance is a Product Standard for adjustable speed electrical power drive systems. Apart from the requirements for EMC this standard also defines special test procedures.
Product Standards form the highest level in standard's hierarchy.


... and various manufacturer standards

Apart from these four categories there are international and national standards as well as manufacturer standards. Especially in the automotive industry each and every manufacturer has his own EMC requirements which are absolutely compulsory for all suppliers to them. They might refer to National or International standards but often include specific requirements to be fulfilled.

If you need support on a specific test requirement or seek information about a specific standard document please link to the standard organization of your interest. If you cannot find the adequate link please contact us.


Standards - Guidelines in EMC

Useful Links

Looking for information about EMC in general or for specific information about standardization and standards?

More Questions?

If you can't find any answer to your question please send us an eMail with your query.

By continuing to use the site you agree to our privacy and cookie policy.

More information